Flexible Dieting/IIFYM: what? how? why?

In this post I will talk about the diet I am following namely Flexible Dieting. There exist a lot of misunderstandings around this term and there a lot of people who never even heard about it yet! That’s why I will try to explain as well as possible how it all works in this blogpost.

First of all, I want to get out all the misunderstandings. A lot of people think that Flexible Dieting is about eating as much unhealthy foods in your macros as possible. Nothing is less true! I will tell you more about this later.

What is it?

Flexible Dieting is a diet where you don’t need to hold on to a strict plan and where there is nothing you definitely can’t eat. If I tell people I follow a diet, they think I want to lose weight but it isn’t always like that. You can also follow a diet without the intention to lose weight. A diet can be just a way to live healthy and to maintain your weight or even gain weight (for example when you want more muscles). At this moment, I am gaining weight but in May, I will try to lose some weight again for summer.

How does it work?

First of all, I am going to tell you something about calories. Everyone burns calories and eats food that contains calories. When you want to lose weight, you need to eat less calories than you burn so when you want to gain weight, you need to eat more than you burn. Besides calories, you also have macronutrients. There exist three macronutrients namely carbs, fats and protein. You need to look how many  from each macronutrient you eat per day. For that, I use an app where I enter all my food and then it shows how much from each macronutrient you ate and how much of it you can still eat. Flexible Dieting is seen as a protein rich diet so you need to eat a lot of protein.

Why Flexible Dieting?

When I really started watching my food, I bought a meal plan from a coach. First of all, I found it very hard to follow the plan, especially on the weekend. On the weekends my parents cook and I didn’t like that I couldn’t eat with them. Secondly, I found I was often hungry which made it even harder to stick to the plan (now I am never hungry). Another thing that bothered me was that everytime I wanted to eat something that was not on the plan, I ended up eating a lot. I made a cheat day of a cheat meal or even a cheat week. Since I started doing Flexible Dieting, I binge less. I know I can eat everything (in moderation) so when I want to cheat sometime, I just put it in my app and I fit it in. When I know I can’t have something, I want it even more. Now, that I am doing Flexible Dieting, I don’t have that problem anymore. Flexible Dieting DOESN’T mean that you can eat whatever you want. It means that you still need to eat at least 80% healthy and healthy means mostly unprocessed food, and low in calories.

Hopefully you know a little bit more now about Flexible Dieting now. In this post, I didn’t tell you everything there is to know about flexible dieting but I just wanted to show how it works. Later, I will post on my blog about how you can get started. Questions? Don’t hesitate to comment or contact me!

Love,

Jana

Leave a Reply

