How I stayed fit during the exams

Yesterday I finally went back to the gym. Of course I was a little scared that I would have lost some muscles but you know what? I could lift just as much weight at each excercise and it even went very fluently! Why that is, I explain you in this blogpost.

For me, exams go before everything. Still I try to stay healthy and to work on my fitness when I can. Because I stayed home and the gym isn’t around the corner, I only went three times in a month. So what did I do to stay fit?

I think the most important thing during the exams is eating healthy. Not only because I wouldn’t lose my shape I worked so hard for but also because I feel way better then. Your brain should better get the right nutrition as well. In the beginning of the exams, I tried not to track. My goal was to maintain my weight or lose a bit if I could. At first, I studied at my boyfriends and I was losing weight slowly but when I came home, it went wrong. At my home, they eat way unhealthier than at my boyfriends. That’s why I started gaining weight quiet fast and that’s not what I wanted. I decided to start tracking my food again. Like that I could join dinner without gaining weight and I just watched my food during the day. Tracking was also useful because I could lose a bit of weight before we go on our holiday because who doesn’t like looking good on holiday pictures? I mostly watched my calories and not my macros because exams are hard enough already.

Next to eating healthy, I also stayed active. For me it’s always a bit searching what kind of sports I will do during the exams. I love going to the gym but I can’t run because I have a bad knee. I train at home sometimes but I get tired of it quickly. In the gym there are way more possibilities of course. When I do a training at home, I also miss having a goal a bit. Like you could read in my previous blogpost, I practiced a lot of yoga. Next to that, I also swam a few times (my boyfriend has a pool). The last week of the exams I followed the POP Pilates workout calender from Cassey Ho (www.blogilates.com). I found this a lot nicer than the normal trainings I do at home. If I had discovered the calender a bit earlier, I would probably have done mainly POP Pilates during the exams. Luckily I was able to go to the gym three times on days I had an exam in the morning. After an exam it’s always time to relax for me! By not neglecting my fitness completely, I was able to maintain my strength.

gezond eten

Staying fit during the exams isn’t always easy but it isn’t super hard either. It’s mostly important to find a good balance. There were a lot of days I didn’t do anything. I did yoga almost every day but working out not very often. When I had the time and I wasn’t too tired, I still tried to do a workout. Healthy eating isn’t always easy because I used to eat a lot whenever I had stress. Luckily I broke off that habit a bit already. Of course I want to say ‘fuck it’ during the exams and just eat what I want but I know now that that’s not what will make me happy. Some weeks I ate a little unhealthier and some weeks I ate very healthy and I am satisfied with that. During the exams, not everything needs to go perfectly but I think it’s important that I watch my health a bit. No one wants to be sick or tired all the time during the exams, right?

To conclude I can say that I find it important to find a balance between staying healthy but not to obsess about it too much so you can focus mainly on your exams. By training now and then and eating heathy, I feel better and that’s why I didn’t lose my strength as well.

Love,

Jana

Leave a Reply

